Suramya's Blog : Welcome to my crazy life…

April 27, 2010

Winds of Fury (Valdemar: Mage Winds Book 03) by Mercedes Lackey

Filed under: Reviews-Fantasy — Suramya @ 4:07 PM

Winds of Fury (Valdemar: Mage Winds Book 03)
by Mercedes Lackey


Winds of Fury is the third book in the Mage Winds Trilogy.

Valdemar is once again in peril, threatened by Ancar of Hardorn, who has long sought to seize control of the kingdom by any means at his command. Yet this time Ancar may well achieve his goal, for by harnessing the power of Mornelithe Falconsbane, the Dark Adept, he has set into motion a magical strike against Valdemar the like of which hasn’t been attempted in more than five hundred years- not since Vanyel, the last Herald-Mage, shielded the kingdom from attack by the deadliest of sorceries.

And with Valdemar’s ancient spell-generated protections finally breaking down, Queen Selenay, Herald-Princess Elspeth, and their people could soon be left defenseless against an enemy armed with spells no one in Valdemar has the knowledge to withstand. But as the long dormant magic of Valdemar begins to awaken, Elspeth finds that she too has a mysterious ally- a powerful spirit from the long-forgotten past….

Buy From:


Review:Winds of Fury is the last and final book in the Mage Winds Trilogy and covers the return of Elspeth along with other allies to Valdemar to train the newly recognized Herald-Mages in the use of magic and defend the kingdom against Ancar.

Through a lucky (for Ancar) accident Falconsbane ends up in Ancar’s custody from his prison in the Void and since Falconsbane’s mental defenses were down at the time Ancar set a coercion spell on him to force him to help Ancar against all his enemies and some of his erstwhile allies.

In this book the focus is on Valdemar and Hardorn with a few unexpected visits from ancient allies. There is not a lot of personal development / changes in the lives of the major characters from the previous books in the trilogy but the new characters introduced have their own story and some of them do undergo a lot of changes and upheavals. A lot of points not explained in the previous books are explained here and the book sets the stage for the next trilogy in the series while ending this one concisely and gives the author the opportunity to introduce a whole new set of characters and story lines in later books.

Final recommendation: A great read.

No Comments »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URL

Leave a comment

Powered by WordPress